First stop regionals, next stop state

First stop regionals, next stop state

The district 16 5A UIL academic competition was held  March 24-26. They competed in many events including Journalism, Current Events, Speech, CX, Computer Science and Spelling. 27 students are moving on to Regionals in 22 categories.

“I feel that we represented Lindale extremely well,” UIL coordinator Janice Caldwell said. “We not only won, we were gracious in winning. Winning is great, but how you handle your wins is more important.”

Lindale has a tradition of winning and has had students go to regionals and state consecutively for the past 24 years.

“I feel like we competed well, but we could have always done better,” student Noah Clayton said. “My favorite part about UIL is definitely the competition.”

The entire journalism team advanced with 12 out of 24 medals. Computer Applications, Computer Science, Cross Examination, Speech, and Current Events  advanced as first place teams as well.

“I hope we go to state,” UIL journalism coach Neda Morrow said. “We have a very good shot because we have such a strong team. We are a part of a very hard region, but we have been to a lot of practice meets so I feel that we have a chance to make it to state.”



1st Place Team–Cross Examination

1st Place Team–Current Events

1st Place Team–Journalism

1st Place Team–Speech

2nd Place Team–Computer Science

2nd Place Team–Spelling


Calculator–Caroline Kelm, 5th; Gavin Downing, 6th

Computer Applications–Noah Clayton, 1st; Deanna Grimes 3rd; Jonathan Hilton, 5th

Computer Science–Daniel Gerthe, 2nd; Noah Clayton, 3rd; Dakota Tunnell, 5th

Editorial Writing–Lily Hering, 1st; Bethany Thompson, 5th; Michaela Blanchard, 6th

Feature Writing–Bethany Thompson, 1st; Michaela Blanchard, 2nd; Lily Hering, 4th

Headline Writing–Lily Hering, 1st; Bethany Thompson, 4th; Kelsey Crews, 6th

Informative Speaking–Cody Gustafson, 1st; Evan Bewersdorf, 2nd; Ronak Desai, 3rd

Lincoln Douglas Debate–Logan Jones, 1st

Literary Criticism–Maggie Pierce, 3rd

News Writing–Kelsey Crews, 1st; Lily Hering, 2nd

Number Sense–Ronak Desai, 2nd; Logan Maynard, 4th

Persuasive Speaking–Jonas Thrasher Evers, 1st; Grant Root, 3rd; Barron Wolter, 4th Poetry–Cody Gustafson, 1st; Jonas Thrasher Evers, 2nd; Maggie Pierce, 3rd

Prose–Ashley Ward, 1st; Baylor Payne, 3rd

Science–Caroline Kelm, 6th

Spelling–Tyler Clark, 3rd


Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Eye News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *