Speech and Debate Competes at Plano West

The Lindale Speech and Debate team was honored to compete at the Plano West tournament this weekend.  At a tournament featuring over 40 schools, some all the way from Houston and Austin, the Eagles emerged as the overall tournament CHAMPIONS.  While several schools brought over 20 students, due to the marching band competition, we travelled with only nine students.  Those nine students earned nearly 125 points outpacing second place Grapevine High School by almost 25 points.  Other notable schools in attendance: Westlake High School (Austin), Flower Mound High School, Southlake Carroll High School, Prosper High School, Grand Prairie High School, Bellaire High School (Houston), Colleyville-Heritage High School, among others.  In addition to the overall team success, co-Presidents Evan Bewersdorf and Elizabeth Tagg earned special tournament honors.  Evan won the Richard Holland Memorial Award given to a student in honor of a former Plano West competitor who lost his life in college.  Elizabeth was the overall high point winner at the tournament.  In total, the team earned 12 bids for the Tournament of Champions at the University of Kentucky (held in April).  This brings our season total to 24, which eclipses our entire year total from last year.  Individual results are as follows:
1st Congressional Debate – Evan Bewersdorf (’18)
  Evan was the Top Presiding Officer as well.
1st Dramatic Interpretation – Elizabeth Tagg (’18)
1st Original Oratory – Elizabeth Tagg (’18)
1st Poetry Interpretation – Samantha Rodden (’19)
1st Program of Oral Interpretation – Elizabeth Tagg (’18)
1st Prose Interpretation – Jeremy Guidotti (’20)
2nd Program of Oral Interpretation – Samantha Rodden (’19)
3rd Foreign Extemporaneous Speaking – Evan Bewersdorf (’18)
3rd Poetry Interpretation – Elizabeth Tagg (’18)
4th Domestic Extemporaneous Speaking – Evan Bewersdorf (’18)
5th Poetry Interpretation – Emma Cook (’20)
Quarterfinalist (5th) – Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate – Brayden Unkenholz (’21)
6th Informative – Ashlyn Ellgass (’19)
7th Poetry Interpretation – Maddie Mezzell (’19)
Semifinals Dramatic Interpretation – Maddie Mezzell (’19)
Semifinals Original Oratory – Jeremy Guidotti (’20)