Students play a game while waiting for results. They and their sponsors collectively contributed to Lindales first place finish at the competition.
Students play a game while waiting for results. They and their sponsors collectively contributed to Lindale’s first place finish at the competition.
Evan Bewersdorf

UIL Competitors Win Regional Championship in Magnolia

The Lindale academic team won the Region 3 championship for Conference 5A this past weekend at Magnolia High School.  This improves on its runner-up finish from last year. Accruing 259 points, Lindale won the contest with the highest point total for any school in 5A.

“As a team, we literally couldn’t have done better,” UIL coordinator Rory McKenzie said. “It’s a testament to the hard work my sponsors put in all year. One day does not define our season.  It’s the entire collective body of work that I’m proud of right now.”

The total list of competitors is as follows:

Zach Jones – Computer Applications

Tyler Meador – Computer Applications, Computer Science

Haley Bass – Ready Writing

Emma Grace Cox – News Writing

Tyler Russell – Science, Computer Science

Tyra Rodden – Feature Writing, Editorial Writing

Adrienne Parks – Feature Writing, Editorial Writing, Headline Writing

Bailey Spencer – Feature Writing

Evan Howell – Spelling

Rick Samaraweera – Social Studies

Julia Austin – Social Studies

Peyton Pascual – Social Studies

Jeffrey Ptak – Social Studies

Evan Bewersdorf – LD Debate, Informative Speaking

Samantha Rodden – Literary Criticism, Poetry

Aja Curry – Literary Criticism

Elizabeth Montgomery – Literary Criticism

Maddie Mezzell – Literary Criticism, Prose

Elizabeth Tagg – Poetry

Anthony Wyatt – Persuasive Speaking

Ronak Desai – Persuasive Speaking

“Preparation starts at the very beginning of the school year,” computer applications and computer science sponsor Amanda English said. “The contests progressively get more difficult at each level of competition. At the regional level, students must have an advanced knowledge of the content and must be able to recall information quickly due to time limitations on the tests.”

Individual results are as follows:

1st Computer Applications – Tyler Meador STATE QUALIFIER

3rd Computer Applications – Zach Jones STATE QUALIFIER

2nd Computer Science – Tyler Russell STATE QUALIFIER

(Computer events are coached by Amanda English)

1st Editorial Writing – Tyra Rodden STATE QUALIFIER

3rd Editorial Writing – Adrienne Parks STATE QUALIFIER

1st Feature Writing – Adrienne Parks STATE QUALIFIER

2nd Feature Writing – Tyra Rodden STATE QUALIFIER

4th Feature Writing – Bailey Spencer STATE ALTERNATE

5th Headline Writing – Adrienne Parks

(Journalism writing events are coached by Neda Morrow.)

2nd Physics – Tyler Russell STATE ALTERNATE

(Science coached by Duane Walton)

4th Social Studies – Rick Samaraweera STATE ALTERNATE

(Social Studies coached by Taylor Jarman)

1st Informative Speaking – Evan Bewersdorf STATE QUALIFIER

2nd Informative Speaking – Ashlyn Ellgass STATE QUALIFIER

2nd Lincoln-Douglas Debate – Evan Bewersdorf STATE QUALIFIER

5th Persuasive Speaking – Anthony Wyatt

1st Prose Interpretation – Maddie Mezzell STATE QUALIFIER

1st Poetry Interpretation – Elizabeth Tagg STATE QUALIFIER

8th Poetry Interpretation – Samantha Rodden

(Speech events coached by JP Fugler and Rory McKenzie)

“It feels absolutely amazing to be attending state as a freshman, and I’m very excited that I have this opportunity,” freshman Zachary Jones said. “This year’s success gives me a lot of motivation for my next few years in UIL academics because it shows me that, if I put the time and effort into my event, it will eventually pay off.”

In addition to these students, the One-Act Play team also advanced to state.  They earned 54 of the points toward the region championship and are led by Taylor Jarman and Kari McKenzie. The company includes:

  • Kayleigh Melvin
  • Evan Howell
  • Elizabeth Tagg
  • Maddie Mezzell
  • Julia Austin
  • Haley Bass
  • Chase Welvaert
  • Alli Somes
  • Alex Gaba
  • Sarah McCeig
  • Elvis Farmer
  • Giddeon Storkson
  • Cameron Hilliard
  • Kayleigh Horstkamp
  • Sarah Carter
  • Sydney Smith
  • Annie Evans
  • Kaylea Clay
  • Hannah Boyer
  • Makenah Lloyd
  • Luke Sims
  • Nalany Hernandez
  • Abigail Powell
  • Caleb Lawrence

“I was completely blown away,” junior Kayleigh Melvin said. “We had such amazing competition that none of us really knew where we stood. We haven’t qualified for state in 10 years, and it feels absolutely euphoric to know that we were the cast to go back. Winning best actress was like winning the lottery. I couldn’t believe it. This show has made me push myself to my limits, and I love it.”

​The state competition for One Act Play is April 23-25, the meet for academics is May 4-5 and the tournament for speech is May 21-22. For the first time in more than a decade, Lindale has students competing in all three of the competitions.​

“Everyone is coming for the competition in Austin,” McKenzie said. “We can’t say if we’ll win or lose. But, that shiny medal does make everything sweet.  I love the look on a student’s face when they realize that they’re a state medalist. It’s priceless.”

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Eagle Eye News Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *