Students Named Members of UIL All-State Journalism Team


UIL journalism students stand together after their district competition. From here, alumni Bailey Spencer went to win feature writing at UIL state.

Joshua Smith, Managing Editor of Entertainment and Editorials

Several UIL journalism students have been named members of the 2019 University Interscholastic League All-State Journalism Staff.  Honorees include recent graduate and state champion in feature writing, Bailey Spencer, as well as graduates Carter Colvin and Claudia Moore, seniors Colleen Starkey and Emma Grace Cox, and junior John Park. 

“Being a member of the All-State Staff puts [honorees] among an elite group of students who understand the value of scholastic journalism,” Jeanne Acton, State Director of UIL Journalism, said. “Only a select group of students are able to accumulate enough points during the school year to make them an All-State member.”

Students compete in UIL Journalism throughout the state during the school year to accumulate points to become recognized as outstanding within the field of journalism. When the students go to competition and medal in their respective events the students earn points based on their performance. 

“As the other staffers and I compete throughout the year, not only do we accumulate medals, we also accumulate valuable friendships with neighboring staffs,” Park said. “It has really helped me with my writing skills inside and outside of the classroom.”

Not only is this an honor for the program as a whole to have students part of the All-State staff, but it is a transformative experience for the students as well. It gives them skills that they can use throughout their lives, and it creates a very positive form of friendly competition and community.

 “Being chosen is a high honor because it shows who is the best of the best throughout the state of Texas,” Morrow said. “It takes many hours and the sacrifice of weekends to get to all-state level. I am very proud of the UIL Journalism team and how well they represent the school and the community with their hard work and dedication.”