Students Receive All-State Journalism Staff Honor



Charlotte McConathy, Jaida Jones, Kylie Hester, and Julia Montgomery (along with graduates Vivi Lehmann, Lian Boone, Jesika Miller and Marlee Sorrells) were all named to the All-State Journalism Staff for 2022.

Kanyon Ridge, Staff Writer

Multiple members of the 2021-2022 Lindale journalism team were announced as recipients of the 2022 All-State Journalism Staff recognition this week. To receive the honor, students had to compete in multiple events and earn medals throughout the year. 

“Being named to the All-State Staff is an incredible achievement for any journalism student, and the State of Texas has the best student journalists in the nation,”  Alyssa Boehringer, UIL State Director of Journalism, said. 

Students receive points based on their placement in competitions. Points range from two to eight and are given when a student medals in the top six in a UIL journalism event.

“They really just gave everything they had to represent Lindale with honor, and I’m proud of their work ethic,” journalism coach Neda Morrow said. “I can’t wait to see all the great things they do this year.”

The team spends their whole year practicing in and out of school, as well as competing in-person and in virtual competitions. One benefit of this award is that students then get to put it on college and scholarship applications.

“At first I didn’t expect to be a member, but it’s really cool that me and the others in the journalism program get recognized,” team member Julia Montgomery said. “I enjoyed competing because I know it’s something I’m great at, and I’m working my hardest this year.”

The team competes in 5 separate events: copy editing, editorial writing, feature writing, headline writing and news writing. The first competitions for the new season will begin in October.

“I am so proud of this group,” Morrow said.  “They really sacrificed their time and put in many hours to become champions.  Winning the UIL state championship last year was awesome, but I am also grateful that the state recognized the efforts of the whole team throughout the year.”